top of page

A Little Discipline Never Hurt…


Effective writing and communication are a crucial aspect within my chosen discipline. In order for ideas, projects, and research to be effectively transferred between its members, writing within the discipline must be clear, concise, and highly descriptive. Communication is highly effective with the use of the Internet to send data and papers, as well as several conferences where data and ideas are presented.

From my observations in the biomedical engineering discipline, I learned that communication is highly important. These observations mainly came from my interview with a senior in biomedical engineering here at NC State. She informed me on many opportunities offered here and that I should start networking within the field as soon as I possibly can. She also informed me on the many conferences she has attended within the field, as well as the many people she has met and remains in contact with within the field. Furthermore, she spoke about her research, and how she communicates and works with team members in the biomedical engineering programs here at NC State, Duke, and UNC Chapel Hill. In addition to biomedical engineering students, she has worked with electrical engineering students, mechanical engineering students, neuroscience students, and many professionals across many disciplines. Finally, she spoke about her own creations and research in several areas, and how she will soon have a published work. She needed to very clearly describe the entire process within her research paper, which she described as a very tedious process.

In this discipline, most of the writing is in the form of research papers and descriptions of products, methods, or concepts. The literature is very informative and descriptive. Communication and writing will likely heavily affect my future career path, having to write often and constantly communicate with my colleagues. I will have to become proficient in writing research papers and in the format used in engineering. If I cannot clearly communicate with my peers, I will not become successful in my chosen discipline.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page