top of page

Let There Be Writ(ing)!


Why do I write? Because I do what I want, and I want to write dammit! Okay, I also write when I’m assigned to write. However, the main reason I write is to entertain my audience and get my thoughts and ideas across. If I can convey a message to my audience, and they gain some enjoyment from it or are interested in what I wrote, I believe I have accomplished something. I also really enjoy writing for the purposes of entertainment of my audience. For example, last year I wrote a comedic spoken word piece that I then performed at a coffee house style performance at my high school. After writing the piece for a week, I was excited to see the response I would get, and to my delight the audience roared with laughter at most all my jokes. I also attempt to make my writings for my classes interesting for the teacher or to elaborate on the topic in a clever or thoughtful way.

I also write because I greatly enjoy it myself. While I write to entertain or inform my target audience, I must also like my work or I will not continue writing. For example, this is my third attempt at writing this blog post so far, and I still don’t know if I will post this one or not. That first paragraph was pretty meh in my opinion. Anyway, I also enjoy writing because it is very calming and I can write my thoughts down and clear my mind. Writing gives me an excuse to relax while simultaneously feeling a sense of satisfaction and accomplishment from getting work done.

Finally, I write because I believe it is something that I am fairly “good” at. However, this is difficult to quantify, as seen by the King article which we read on the first day of class. Regardless, I believe as long as I am enjoy what I’m writing, my audience enjoys my writing, and if I declare that “this thing that I wrote is good,” that I am a good writer. That may be a strange definition for “good” writing, but as long as I believe I am a good writer, I will continue writing.

This is why I write.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page